life of d

By davidd

The Ongoing Adventures of Matt the Morris Dancer

Mayday is a big thing for Morris dancers, the Devils Dyke Morris Men (with whom our friend Matt dances) have a traditional 'Welcome the season, May the first thing' at Wandlebury Hill.
Stupidly I had agreed to go and so Alfie and I found ourselves in the pre dawn light, in a field, freezing our bottoms off.
As Matt had mentioned this when we were all out the other night, a few other fools hardy souls had braved the cold to see the sunrise.

Off they went with an air of Monty Python (from the two Morris Dancing things I've seen in the last week it would seem that humour is a very important part of the proceedings), fiddles fiddling, hankies flying, sticks bonking, bells jingling they welcomed the sun up in a very special way. Not something Alfie or I will forget in a hurry (well at least until we have warmed up).

The full Morris

The real reason I went of course was to get an early blip in, I wanted a picture of Matt in full Morris attire in silhouette against the sun, alas I made a bit of a hash of it (I'll link later). So here is the whole crew instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.