please dispose of somewhat less than responsibly

Despite making a valiant attempt to complete the shower screen installation in the morning I couldn't find the trigger-skoosher-thing for squirting sealant, though wasted a couple of hours looking everywhere for it before decided to pop out and buy a new one on the way home. Fortunately this meant I didn't leave until the worst of the sunshine was over for the day.

Every previous time I've popped for a trundle over the bridge and back I've been forced to use the east walkway due to the west walkway being shut, despite it simply being fractionally more convenient to reach the east walkway from the route I usually approach along. Today I got all the way across the down the steps to cross underneath it at the Fife end before finding out that the east walkway was closed today, though neither the people at the desk at the Edinburgh end nor any of the be-tabardèd people standing looking vaguely purposeful at various points along the walkway seemed inclined to stop me. Not until at the Fife end of the western walkway did I clearly identify the writing on the back of the tabards (and (more visibly) on another desk-thing) as being something to do with one of those distasteful non-secular charities, presumably possibly the reason for some of the people walking across walking across, particularly the person who looked to be in fancy dress. With all the atmospheric haze mostly obscuring the less pleasant Forthward sights the view from the west walkway was almost as good as the view from the east walkway since half the structure of the proper bridge was coated in tents. As it hadn't rained for a bit I thought it might be worth popping along the Dalmeny-Newbridge former railway path, which I don't think I'd been down on my current bike. It wasn't as lumpy as I remembered (and the bit where the path is floored with pine-needles was particularly nice) and is a possibility for popping along when encumbered by child, though I'd take at least a couple of spare tubes for the lumpier bits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.