Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Lonely Little Yellow Duck

I took Chris back to uni today, but before we left we had a last walk to the river so that he could hear the reed and sedge warblers. We were both very surprised to see this solitary yellow duckling in the middle of the Rowing Lake, without any parents or siblings nearby.

It looked remarkably like the rubber ducks that the boys used to have in their baths when they were babies. It was very conspicuous and I'm afraid that it's chances of survival are probably not very good.

My journey to Sheffield and back was very smooth despite it being a Bank Holiday. It's been bright, cool and very windy again today. The evening light on the new foliage was indescribably beautiful this evening - it would have been nice to be out in it with a camera rather than whizzing down the A1!!

Early to bed tonight, as I have to be off at the crack of dawn for a day of surveying woodlands. That is, if I feel up to it - my stomach's feeling more than a little peculiar this evening and I'm just crossing my fingers that it's not going to develop into anything nasty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.