Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Mom's Silver Tea Set

Fiona was sick today for the monday "Faces of Fiona" and stayed home so I had to come up with something else . The 2011 challenge for the week is "Mother". I think of my mother every time I am served tea in one of her silver pitchers by a grandchild. They all have loved this, and I just know my Mom would have loved having them love it, even if there are a few dents from dropping. This set gets polished once a year for Christmas, altho I sort of like the "patina" on it like now. And we are always finding candy and toys and rocks stored in them. I do remember her having a real "tea" where someone sat at the head of a fancily set table and poured. That hasn't happened since long before she died, 20 years ago. But I think it looks rather nice in our dining room on the red dog, a work of art by artist Lynn Di Nino. It was sold with a glass top as a table, and the dog can also stand on his feet, but I like it this way and the memories of my Mom are not far away.














Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.