Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

Floating Buddha

Today's image is to kind of remind me of all that is okay with my world, that I mustn't panic about all that is worrying me and that getting swept into catastrophe mode is not helpful or useful.

I am really lucky in that I have such a richness of creative things going on right now: performing with Pride choir on Saturday evening, been asked to be one of the 'roving photographers' at the event (we're not going to be singing long), knitting colourful strips like a demon for a 'yarn bombing' project (I'll know what that is when it's happened).

I felt really sick when I saw a post on someone's Facebook page inviting viewing of the shooting of Bin Laden. Seconds later, though, I saw the following posting of some words by Martin Luther King Jr on another friend's page.

"I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that"
Martin Luther King, Jr.

ps: alas, I was not on a boat looking at a statue of Buddha. It's a little statue that I keep on my desk at work that I perched on top of the water cooler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.