Wistful moments

By KathM

Oak Tree

The Oak Tree

by Johnny Ray Ryder Jr.


A mighty wind blew night and day.

It stole the Oak Tree's leaves away.

Then snapped its boughs

and pulled its bark

until the Oak was tired and stark.



But still the Oak Tree held its ground

while other trees fell all around.

The weary wind gave up and spoke,

"How can you still be standing Oak?"



The Oak Tree said, I know that you

can break each branch of mine in two,

carry every leaf away,

shake my limbs and make me sway.



But I have roots stretched in the earth,

growing stronger since my birth.

You'll never touch them, for you see

they are the deepest part of me.



Until today, I wasn't sure

of just how much I could endure.

But now I've found with thanks to you,

I'm stronger than I ever knew


Took a walk down the road to my local canal this afternoon in beautiful sunshine. To get there i have to cross a small field which is gradually being conserved by the council, including the planting of numerous Oak tree saplings which seem to be holding up well and look very healthy. This poem i came across has been dedicated to women worldwide, and i want to dedicate it to a work friend of mine whose husband has recently been diagnosed cancer. My thoughts and love are with her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.