Fat Balls!

You may or may not be aware of this but West Michigan is full of people with Dutch ancestry. And nothing symbolizes this better than Holland, Michigan, just a 40-minute ride from Grand Rapids.

Holland sits on Lake Michigan and sports beautiful beaches but the event that brings in visitors from around the country each year is Tulip Time (check out the link if you want more information).

It opens in a few days and I met my cousin there for lunch today. Preparations are everywhere, as are the tulips. We took a nice walk along a marsh where a windmill brought over from the Netherlands (De Swaan) could be seen in the distance. I'll do a proper blip on the windmill another time.

Additional photos are on flickr but here are three I thought you might enjoy:

De Zwaan
My cousin photographing De Zwaan
3-headed Tulips - new to me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.