Stern of the Karlsruhe

Day four diving at Scapa Flow (explanation starts here).

This morning was the big dive for me on the Markgraaf. Like the Kronprinz Wilhelm yesterday she is a battleship than turned up-side-down while sinking, so the interesting stuff is at the bottom. We were down on the casemate guns at 44m, which is the second deepest dive I've ever done (the deepest was 45m in clear tropical waters on my technical training).

At the bottom of the dive I was pretty "narced" - meaning I was suffering from "nitrogen narcosis". Basically it's like being drunk, so I chose not to distract myself with my camera and to concentrate on diving safely and enjoying the wreck. My buddy sailfish is much more experienced on these deeper dives so she took her camera, although none of the photos from the Markgraaf made the cut for her blip!

This afternoon we dived the Karlsruhe, one of the light cruisers, which we dived a couple of days ago and really enjoyed. She lies on one side on the seabed, and this is her rather elegant stern, complete with teak planking and a smattering of plumose anemones. Very beautiful.

A great day diving once again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.