[blowfish]

By blowfish

joyce

This is Joyce. She is a server at Ol' South Pancake House, a Fort Worth greasy spoon staple that has been around for almost fifty years. Why were Leah and I at a 24 Hour pancake joint at 5 AM? Well, Leah has summarized it the best here (and taken probably my favorite Blip of hers to date).

So, Joyce works the 10PM to 6AM shift and she was crafting the ubiquitous silverware-napkin rolls to end out her night. Apparently, when the new manager came in, schedules got shuffled around and very few people were willing to cover the overnight shifts. Joyce, who I found out has two grown children, was able to take the shift more easily than her co-workers with younger children or other jobs or whatever. She also said it fit in her insomniac habits too and I told her I could really relate to that one. But she was so friendly and so open to having me take her picture. Hopefully she is sleeping right now. I could go on endlessly here, waxing poetic/lamenting on the iso/deso -lation of the working class hero(ine) but the photographs really speak for themselves (in addition to Leah's linked above, here are some other shots that are worthy of sharing).

Almost a little bit of Hopper going on, eh? Good morning beautiful sun, good morning classically beautiful Americana.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.