Tuscany

By Amalarian

WILD GLADIOLUS

When I was told that some wild gladioli were found, I couldn't believe it. Who would have thought the huge and flashy gladioli were ever wild? But of course they were. Everything was. They are known as Field gladiolus at times, also Gladiolus italicus.

They grow in the New Forest in the UK, where they suffer from being picked, and the Greek island of Crete is known for them. They are fond of growing in the middle of grasses and weeds so the bank of them visible last year are now happily buried in a mass of tall grass and weeds where they are in danger of being zapped. I did blip these almost exactly a year ago. I thought I'd do them again because they are an endangered species.

All this photographic lark has got to stop. I went to photograph these with different lenses, a garden kneeler, and two cameras, all things I did not own a year ago when I last photographed these. To get to these flowers we have to drive up a rutted dirt road with hairpin curves. I didn't think the Kangoo was going to make it.

"We need four-wheel drive," Himself said. Blip has a lot to answer for but a four-wheel drive vehicle is out.

For the record: +22 Sunny. Humidity 38%. If the humidity is that low, why is visibility so bad?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.