A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

Back to Basics

LARGE

I have a couple of fantastic cameras and associated bits of kit.

A Canon SX30IS, a Canon S90, assorted filters, a gorillapod, a tripod.

I regularly like to wander around between home and work and find a decent blip.

Sometimes this infuriates me, because however many photos I take, I'm not very happy with many of the results once I have a look at them on my computer.
(Yes, I'm pretty critical of my own photos.)

So yesterday, I decided to go back to basics - using my old budget point and shoot compact Canon A490 on Program Mode (which is as close to manual settings as I can get), so I can mess with three settings and exposure to see what I can do. The aim is still to get the settings right on the camera and then post the result without any processing.

I don't even want to use my iPhone to be honest because there are so many apps that let me tinker with the picture.

I wanted to see what I can do with what is in front of me. I've no idea if I will be able to continue this little experiment of mine before I see something else and think "Ooh! I'll get a photo of that, with a flashier camera!"

Hope you all have a great weekend - mine will be a bit pants as the rota says it's my turn to work on Saturday from 7am til 4pm when I will essentially spend the day on my own. What fun!


This is today's result.
And this? This is a car park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.