Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Flight of Imagination

Perhaps this image is a Glaswegian photographic cliché, but I rarely visit the city, so it was fresh for me.

I've been to Glasgow two or three times before, always on short work trips the last being about ten years ago, so arriving in the city still carries quite an impact. On this visit I only saw that small urban core between Central Station and the University of Strathclyde, with the grandeur of George Square lying about halfway between. I really must pay a proper visit to explore the city further.

I had an hour after my seminar in the morning before my train home, so I sat in George Square watching the gulls go by. I have a series of about eight shots of this Herring Gull sat on the head of Robert Burns, but I've chosen the one with wings spread, although you lose something of the quality of the statue in this one.

This is #2 in a short series of birds sat on heads. #1 here

poet ~ of Scotland ~ contemplative outlook ~ imagination ~ takes flight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.