1982.

Chateau Lafite-Rothschild. 1982. 100 points. $xxxx dollars a bottle in 2011.

My dad bought a case of this wine for $600 when it came out in 1982 because Robert Parker rated it 100 points. It was supposed to be the wine of my dad's lifetime. And let me tell you, it was.

For New Year's 2004 (?), I vaguely remember opening/drinking a bottle of "Ben Franklin port", as my sister calls it because it was on the boat that Ben Franklin rode at some point in his lifetime from Paris to... the US (??) -- that was horrible tasting. Absolutely disgusting. Not even good tasting vinegar.

We celebrated the end of my Masters degree and the beginning of medical school. Brighton and Shane were wonderful enough to make the drive down to Beaumont for our crawfish boil weekend. Thank you, friends. That means a lot. My sister has always had friends drive over from their homes outside of Beaumont and beyond to celebrate special weekends with my family. For some reason, my friends have always been more hesitant. Though Dane, Julie, and Foley were here last year. Though they also lived in Beaumont at one time or another. But I'll still count it.

The drive was long but worth it. Steak for dinner. The most amazing bottle of wine. And friends and family to share it with.

Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.