Fish in Edinburgh street barrel massacre

Actually, it's quite a restful way of getting a photo sitting in the morning sun with the camera pointing at the hoarding, live view on and waiting for some unfortunate individual to pass by. I could try to elevate it and claim it to be in the Cartier Bresson tradition, something that always makes me laugh and a comparison that I sometimes miss these days now that the one who liked to make the comparison of himself to HCB is no longer with us.

In truth, I spotted the hoarding and thought that since I've a little soft spot for them, I'd better do it now since it's only a matter of time before MrSmith or Tonto come along and do something better.

But now that I've spent some time Googling Bresson's most famous photo, Behind the Gare St Lazare, I think I'll go and read the big long thread on this forum about the photo and Bresson in general. Also, if you're interested, here's the negative, showing how much it was cropped. One of only two photos he acknowledged cropping. Hmm. I hae me doobts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.