Grape flowers

on our Muscat d'Hambourg vine, a table grape. We planted it only a couple of years ago so we've had no fruit from it yet, but this year looks hopeful. I'm always surprised by how insignificant the flowers of grape vines and olives trees are, compared with the wonderful fruit they both produce.

This morning began with a clear blue sky and bright sunshine. The swifts which nest under the eaves of the houses around our place were racing up and down at first-floor window level, screeching and catching insects....until I tried to take photos of them, when they all suddenly disappeared, until I sat at my desk and then I could hear them again, taunting me! Another day, I'll capture them. Later, a huge bank of cloud came in from the sea, turning everything grey, so I decided on a monochrome image of these flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.