horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Taxi for Kingfisher

Okay, so this was a better photo (and the one Mel wanted me to use); and this one captured some of the personality of the bird; but I just love the fact that there were people walking by, and cars driving by, completely oblivious to this beautiful wee bird sitting on the other side of the wall (or, of course, in trees).

I'm glad I sat out ten minutes longer at work than planned to see if the rain would stop, and thereby stick to an en-route-home rendez-vous with a friend at a spot he said he'd seen the Kingfishers every day for the last week. They didn't disappoint, presumably there's a nest nearby (but I don't want to know because it's an offence to photograph a Kingfisher within something like 100 yards of its nest without a licence!).

Anyway, the shots today were 'okay', so I'm planning a very early Sunday rise so I can spend an hour or two at the same spot, and hopefully get some morning sun to truly light them up (meaning I also won't have to use such a noisy ISO).

Nice bright point to what was already a reasonably good Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.