secret garden

By freespiral

leveret

I unexpectedly had a day off today - lovely!! The weather continues to be wild and unpredictable but there's enough gaps in the showers to get out. Tomorrow is the ladies book club and it's at my house. A glass of wine is expected on arrival and tea and home-made cakes at half time!! The domestic goddess, not often unleashed, had to spring into action and baking has taken place! I have made orange and sultana flapjacks, and a rhubarb and orange cake. I have slight concerns about both but hope they will be okay! The standard is high!

I had to nip into Bantry for provisions and took the bog road across the mountain. I hadn't gone far when a young hare leapt out in front of me! Hares are mesmerised by cars and tend to run in front of you, stop, panic and then start off again. Luckily he sat in the road long enough for me to take a quick blip. What an attractive creature - such long, jangly legs and huge ears. Note the road too - this is a very tiny windy thing that goes up quite high and you can see both sides of the peninsula at the summit. There is a fine crop of spring flowers and grass in the centre (no white lines here!!) and it is very narrow. Fortunately you can see other cars winding their way up or down and there are pull in places. Not for the faint hearted but the views are amazing.

We had a very enjoyable evening last night eating pizza, drinking wine and playing articulate - it tends to bring out the killer instinct in everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.