Wee birdie

What happened today? Anything? Did I really just go to work, do quite necessary but dull things and then come home again? Err, yes, I think I did.

Will I do anything interesting tonight? Err, no, probably not. Ah well, maybe tomorrow.

***
OK, I've given myself a slap and decided that even though what I was trying didn't wholly work out, the end result's not too bad. Actually, pretty good. What was I up to?

I've been intrigued by the idea that Cartier Bresson cropped just two photos. I can't find anything that contradicts the claim but plenty that shows how his training as a painter makes all his photos perfectly composed. So, task 1 - to not need to crop. Failed. I seem incapable of holding a camera level so everything needs straightened and cropped. I'll need to work on that. I know i can crop later but like everything else it's about practising the discipline of framing accurately at the time.

Task 2 - while I was reading about the not cropping, I came across the HCB quote "If you find something interesting and wait long enough, it will become more interesting". I can't find a source of it but it seemed like an interesting idea. I had a look at the first version of this in the camera and decided that the top right was a bit empty and would be more interesting if I waited for a pigeon to obligingly fly into that space. That worked. Except there was two pigeons but one got cut in half by the cropping so the rest had to be cloned out. Success undermined by the cropping. The principle works, like the bloke on Monday and the car yesterday.

Task 3 - I'd have liked more detail in the buildings. Not much more than there is but enough to show some details. I had this one from last year in mind where I managed to get more detail into the buildings. Maybe I'll go back to the software and see if there's anything can be done.

Task 4 - From my Stills course - one of the themes of it is edges, borders and frames and I was using the bridge to frame the buidlings. That one worked out OK.

So, not so meh but not quite what I wanted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.