an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

Jordy

EDIT: Went back and forth on this one several times. First time I've ever changed a shot, then changed back, etc....

The actor portrait series continues today.

Brian mentioned yesterday that I should take more portraits. Believe it or not, portraits are my first and best love, but I am overly critical of them. I am trying to take more - hoping to do some longer series over the summer, but I am so damn picky about them.

The thing is, I can take 150 frames of the same inanimate thing, and one will probably be what I want. But I can't always take 150 frames of a person, and I hate the disappointment of finding a portrait did not come out how I liked.

So I think this entry is about letting go of expectations, trying to put myself out there a little more as just someone with a camera. I love to take portraits when I am the "photographer" - I took so many portraits on the bicycle ride to Alaska, because no one ever questioned my right to do so. I was the photographer.

Trying to be that way in real life can prove more difficult. I imagine it is a neuroses that is connected to my fear of talking to strangers on the phone and asking people for help.

Anyway, this, friends, is Jordy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.