Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Can't Run, But

So far, this week has been a lot more sedate than last week (which is probably for the best), and I haven't had to deal with anything more troubling than hearing my new gaffer talk in excruciating detail about his irritable bowel syndrome.

Another peaceful day today hasn't yielded many decent captures, but I'll go with this, and couple it with some tranquil Paul Simon.


I can't run, but I can walk much faster than this
Can't run, but
I can't run, but I can walk much faster than this
Can't run, but

A cooling system burns out in the Ukraine
Trees and umbrellas protect us from the new rain
Armies of engineers to analyse the soil
The food we contemplate, the water that we boil

I can't run, but I can walk much faster than this
Can't run, but
I can't run, but I can walk much faster than this
Can't run, but

I had a dream about us, in the bottles and the bones of the night
I felt a pain in my shoulder blade, like a pencil point? A love bite?
A couple was rubbing against us, rubbing and doing that new dance
The man was wearing a jacket and jeans, the woman was laughing in advance

I can't run, but I can walk much faster than this
Can't run, but
I can't run, but I can walk much faster than this
Can't run, but

A winding river gets wound around a heart.
Pull it tighter and tighter, until the muddy waters part
Down by the river bank, a blues band arrives
The music suffers, the music business thrives

I can't run, but I can walk much faster than this
Can't run, but
I can't run, but I can walk much faster than this
Can't run, but

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.