Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Vino Time

Look. I figure it like this. Any idiot with a swag of lettuce in his wallet (or HER wallet) can swan into a bottle shop and come out with a satisfying bottle of wine.

Unfortunately there isn't much lettuce in MY wallet (or ample quantities of any OTHER vegetable if it comes to that) and so I have to be either very knowledgeable or especially lucky if I am going to manage the same thing. Forget "knowledgeable" but I DID luck out this time with some 2008 Oakvale (Yarra Valley) Cabernet Sauvignon. This stuff is brilliant.

Now I have been buying from Australian wineries since the 1960s. Don't look now but that was before the beautiful people discovered plonk and the shonks who DID drink wine were considered to be of doubtful character. The red liquid inside the bottle depicted is beautifully made and .... it's really cheap right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.