crystaltips

By crystaltips

International Nurses' Day

No, not something dreamed up by Hallmark to sell more cards....

Nurses' Day is held on the anniversary of Florence Nightingale's birthday.

Funnily enough in 5 days time it will 24 years to the day that I entered the Florence Nightingale Nurses Home ready to start my training the next day in The (Old) Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh.
In my bag were all the items we were told to buy for training; black non-slip lace-up shoes, grey tights (!!), a navy beret, bandage scissors, text books & black cardigan - the cardi only to be worn on nightduty & outside the ward and NEVER in the presence of the Night Sister! (there were other things but I can't remember what)

This is my Training School Badge that I recieved after 3 years of hard slog ( and great times), the Ankh in its design symbolises life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.