Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Contemplation - For Molly & C.

It has been a bit of a surreal week, in a sense. I'm still a bit gobsmacked by the tragically premature loss of Molly, a Blip and Twitter friend to many of us. Although I never had the opportunity to meet with Molly or even speak with her offline, it is certainly something I had hoped to do at some point in the future.
This, and Juliana's very sad but touching Blip today, reminded me of the fleeting nature of our human life and reminded me that we should live every day as though it were our last.
This is one of my favourite poems and I think it is particularly suitable for Molly given the mention of diamond glints on snow, fields of ripening grain and beautiful birds in circling flight...

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am in a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the gentle showers of rain,
I am the fields of ripening grain.
I am in the morning hush,
I am in the graceful rush
Of beautiful birds in circling flight,
I am the starshine of the night.
I am in the flowers that bloom,
I am in a quiet room.
I am in the birds that sing,
I am in each lovely thing.
Do not stand at my grave bereft
I am not there. I have not left.

Mary Elizabeth Frye 1932

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.