An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

First Curls...

It's Friday and I am at last starting to feel better so it's all good! Still confined to the house though so starting to struggle for blips.

Mark, the joiner from the company who recently fitted our new bedroom wardrobes, arrived this morning to fit a mirror to the inside of one of the doors. I was full of good intentions to follow Challenge's lead and ask if I could take a portrait shot of him but I chickened out at the last minute. I now suspect he's gone away making up his own ideas as to why a DSLR camera was sitting on my bedside table!!!

I was going to pop outside and blip some (lucky) white heather given today's date but the heavens opened and that was that!

Then I remembered that earlier in the week I'd been blipping personal items that had no monetary value but priceless sentimental value and so that's what I've gone back to today.

This little silver dish contains 2 curls of hair. The very blonde one in the centre is the first ever curl that was cut from my head as a baby and the strawberry blonde curl was cut from my son's head at his very first haircut. I remember it so well.

He was 18 months old and his head was a mass of golden curls. He looked like an angel. I was unsure that I wanted to get his hair cut but with his ultra long eyelashes and full sweet lips he'd been mistaken for a girl more than once, despite being dressed very much like a boy!

To my amazement he sat perfectly still while my friend Laura combed his hair and I watched as the first curl slipped through her fingers and she snipped off the end. She then very carefully laid it in my palm and I laid it in this little container next to my curl.

When she was finished he was transformed. My baby had disappeared and in his place was a very handsome little boy. But suddenly his petted lip appeared and big tears started to roll down his face and after a moment of wondering what was wrong, I realised that he was crying because he was watching me and I was crying! I hadn't even realised! Immediately I switched to jolly mummy mode and all was well again....well it was once the Teletubbies were put on!

Funny how some moments in time are etched so clearly on your mind....

Have a great weekend everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.