As seen by me...

By GrantR

Belhaven Bridge revisited

This place needs several things to make it work. You need a high tide, preferably higher than 5m. You need high tide to fall at a decent time of day, you need wind and clouds. Today I got all of them but also got gale force gusts, frequent rain and it was bloody cold with the wind whistling in off the North Sea. I've had to spend the last half hour cloning the rain spots off this shot, and that was the best of them.

I also discovered that just having the 10-20mm lens is far from perfect for this location, with the high tide you're too far back. I'd rather have used my 18-70mm but that's got a 67mm front element and the 10 stopper is a 77mm AND... the stepup ring I ordered over a week ago still hasn't came, so it was the 10-20mm or the 70-200mm which is too big to use in high winds as you can't keep it steady for the long exposure.

Will come back here again, and probably again and again... nice to get out of Edinburgh for a bit at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.