Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

End of the Line

"The good of a book lies in its being read. A book is made up of signs that speak of other signs, which in their turn speak of things. Without an eye to read them, a book contains signs that produce no concepts; therefore it is dumb."

- Umberto Eco

Today I visited a rather far-flung part of our catchment area. I'd not been there before, but I had been to the suburbs/areas next to it. They are some of the poorest and most down-trodden and run-down bit; this is a new development full of large and expensive new houses and lots of swish landscaping (to be honest, I like it less than the run-down areas).

Anyway, rounding a corner I spotted this derelict railway station, with a short piece of track. Of course it necessitated stopping off for a couple of minutes - and justified my decision to take my camera.

This was taken with my Lumix G10. I took it in standard and what it calls "dynamic B&W". This is the result of applying Camera Bag's "magazine" filter to the B&W version.

I initially tried straightening the photo slightly to get the overhead rail thing horizontal - but the photo then looked wonky to me. As it is I think it looks right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.