Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Blowing a Gale . . .

. . . Failure.

I deem this to be a failure as an appealing image but a success in that it achieved what I set out to do.

It was blowing a gale today and as it was high tide, even the yachts in Dysart harbour were bucking and tossing about. I wanted to show this so I devised an experiment.

I found a sturdy support for the camera so it wouldn't move and turned the dial to 'sports' setting. I pressed the shutter release and waited for about 15 frames to be taken. I then used GIMP to combine 12 of those frames into a single image.

It succeeds in portraying the boat movement, but fails as an image because the most proninent feature, positioned on the thirds, is the least clearly defined part of the picture.

I offer it to you anyway in the spirit of encouraging experimentation in your daily blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.