Lali's World

By Lali

The Royal Mile 3 - St. Giles' Cathedral

Today I wanted to do a special blip for my 200th, but unfortunately I've been too busy today with work and everything else and I didn't have time for any fancy creations, so I decided to take a picture of whatever was at No 200 in the Royal Mile. As it happens, No 200 doesn't exist, just my luck! However, St. Giles' Cathedral, one of my favourite buildings in Edinburgh, stands roughly where No 200 in the Royal Mile should be. So, this will have to do!

St Giles' cathedral started as a parish church wich was formally dedicated by the bishop of St Andrews in 1243 and subsequently reconsecrated and named in honour of the patron saint of the town, St. Giles. It was founded in the 1120s when the Scottish royal family tried to spread Catholic Christian worship throughout the Scottish lowlands. During the reformation in the 16th Century, the building was used for a range of different purposes: it housed a police station, a fire station, a school and a coal store. The Scottish guillotine, "the Maiden", was housed in the church, and in one corner there was also a prison used for "harlots and whores". The General Assembly of the Church of Scotland, the Parliament and the Town Council met in the building as well! It became a Cathedral in the 17th Century.

So yes! 200! Hard work! And no gaps! I started with one subscriber and no comments and I've ended up with more than 40 subscribers and lots of lovely comments and stars! So, I must be doing something right! If it wasn't for all of you who take your time to have a look at my blips and leave the occasional comment, I would have probably given up. So thanks very much to all of you. You're great!!!

It's been a very long day, as you can tell from my very late blip today. But I'm finally back home. The house is still in a mess, but hopefully it will be back in order during the next couple of days.

Thanks again for being there, taking your time to have a look at my blips and for all your comments! I hope you all had a nice day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.