Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Through the Round Window

From a flying visit to Preston, in the pouring rain. Most of the pictures I took are suffering from raindropitus, so I'll stick with this fine church window, from Fishergate Baptist Church. This was an early work (1857) of the architect James Hibbert, who later built the fine Harris Museum and Art Gallery that dominates the centre of the city.

Preston is one of those places that I used to visit a lot more than I do now, particularly when I lived up the road in Lancaster. Gigs at the Guild Hall were often a reason to visit, with the Pixies and the Sugarcubes being stand out memories from the late 80s, and a Heineken Festival with Kirsty MacColl (RIP).

geometric design ~ of glass ~ and stone ~ look through ~ the round window

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.