Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

Pride

For once I am using this word without it being a convenient segue into a song by one of my favourite bands ( woops who put that link there!)

This is one of the flags in town centre that is there for Bradford Pride on Saturday. Before I get onto the politics I just love the way that this is so striking against the glorious blue sky today, in the words of ELO "Hey there mister blue, we're so pleased to be with you " . It really is bloody lovely to have the sunshine back again today.

Gay Pride is this Saturday and will be another chance for Bradford to shine and come together as a community, Bradford always does events really well and yet somehow always seems to get a bad press. I think the city it will shine beautifully on Saturday, both figuratively and in real terms.

I can't express very well why gay pride is important any where near aswell as my learned friend Appertunity can.

To me it's a no brainer, just don't judge people based on who they have sex with.

We need positive discrimination to raise awareness for the fact that homophobia is still rife and in some countries people die all because they snog someone with a beard when they " should " be snogging someone with breasts.

" Shoulds", " Isms" and " Phobias " cause a lot of tension

So Saturday will be a chance to right a few wrongs. I am working on a health stall and looking forward to it. I am not gay but really that's irrelevant I can despise prejudice and will be proud to be a part of pride.


Anyway, afternoon off: run done, check. Blip done, check. Washing done, check. It must mean I can have a small cold beer in the sun before the school run..

Happy Days,xxx

oh PS we are having a mini blip challenge tommorow " Book that means something to us ", fave holiday book/chill out book/book that changed your life/book that made you smile ... your choice

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.