tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Latest on Twitter

Walking up a lane this morning, I came upon this baby bird on the ground, helpless in the path of the next vehicle. All I could do was transfer it to a safer position on the bank - what would become of it?

When I passed by again a few minutes later I could not see it and loud tweets from the hedge suggested that it was the subject of attention and concern.

Can anyone suggest what species it is - starling perhaps? Note that it still possesses the nestling's wide beak for receiving food from a parent. I could but hope that somehow it would survive the many hazards that surround it.

Latest tweet Thanks to MinBannister, I can now confirm that this is a baby robin. This juvenile camouflage is replaced by the adult plumage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.