Miss Liz Creates

By MissLizCreates

Colorful Days

In Thai tradition, there is an astrological rule (some say it is just good luck, but other reasearch says it has influence from Hindu mythology) that assigns color for each day of the week. The color is assigned based on the color of the God who protects the day or Navagraha. For example, the God of Sunday is Surya which has red color. These colors of the day are the traditional Thai birthday colors. For example, King Bhumibol was born on Monday, so on his birthday throughout Thailand will be decorated with yellow color.

Sunday
-Red
Monday-Yellow
Tuesday-Pink
Wednesday-Green
Thursday-Orange
Friday-Blue (I knew I loved Friday!)
Saturday-Purple

Everyone in Thailand knows what day they were born on, and therefore know 'their color'

I have written the Day of the Week on the top and The Color (in thai) on the bottom and placed them in order in my room (so I can study). I can read most of them, but there are a few letters I do not know yet.

My Color is Green. It took some time to figure out what day I was born on, but now I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.