Cock and Balls...

Golf is a game* I like to keep very much at arms length. I don't dislike it, but I don't like it enough to play it any more than very occasionally and generally more as a social activity.

Today was one such social activity. Nice Guy Eddie from my work organises an Eddie Invitational twice annually to which a couple of people from the department regularly attend. I asked for and received an invite so today I dusted off my sticks (and put 75% of the back in the cupboard. A mistake I made the previous time I played where I tried to lug around a full rack of clubs and only used 5 of them.), pulled out my hardly used golf shoes and picked out my least dramatic collared teeshirt.

I was put at odds of 100/1 and fully justified this by coming in last inspite of my ridiculously large handicap. I did have fun though and was good to have a wee natter as we went round.

-----------------

* I have this running discussion with my dad on the difference between a game and a sport. He reckons it is to do with effectively scoring goals. If you can put the ball in the hole or the arrow in the target, it's a sport. I reckon it's more to do with physical exercise of which golf is a fair bit of exercise but that exercise comes not from the actual golf, but more the amount of walking it entails and I'd not call walking a sport.

I like Joni's explanation which is more or less my same argument. If you can smoke a ciggie whilst doing it, it's a game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.