Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

All that glitters

Grant you it was a golden morning. I went down to the Bogey Hole (I can hear the giggling now - it is an ocean pool carved out by convicts in the early 1800s. See here) but I wasn't really happy with the images. I was soooo careful as the rocks were really slippery. I went back up and climbed over a railing to look back over towards Newcastle beach and take this image. As I was leaving I put the camera on the tripod over the other side of a fence while I ducked under and watched in slow motion horror as it crashed to the ground. The lens shattered. Glass all over the footpath. Oh nooooooo. It came down with such a thud and nothing I could do about it. Thank you thank you thank you that the camera appears to be OK. I have taken some more shots today and so far so good. Perhaps the lens took the brunt of it.

So, do you think I can sell this image for a new lens? I doubt it.

On to more serious questions, have any of you Nikon full frame users got the new 24-120 f4 lens and if so, are you happy with it. Question no 2, do any of you Nikon users have the 28-300. I have heard lots of distortion and vignetting. I am tempted because I am lazy and it might make a good travel lens. Any comments greatly appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.