Pieces of a Jigsaw Puzzle

By szahra

Baby Bird ...

Forgive me if you find this disturbing. I find it disturbing too, but I want to remember this as the day when I saved (or tried to save) a baby bird. Early Sunday morning, I was climbing up the stairs of the house when I found this bird on the landing between the two flight of stairs of the house. At first I thought of it as an insect but on close observation I saw this tiny creature struggling to breath. I looked at the window and found a bird nest. That is where the baby bird dropped from.

I tried to touch it but as soon as I did, it started to shiver. For a split second, I thought the shock will effect its tiny heart but it kept on breathing. Immediately I ran to my room and got a piece of paper, transferred the baby on it and went outside. My brother came outside too and helped me place the bird back near the nest by climbing a ladder. After a while we saw from the window that the baby bird was not to be seen and the paper had fallen off on the ground and the dogs were tearing it up to pieces. So, it is likely that the mother bird took the baby and placed it back in the nest. In that case, I am happy that the baby was saved. The second scenario is that the bird fell and one of the dogs ate it. This is very unlikely because the bird did not have enough energy to move much.

This incident reminds me of my childhood in Quetta, when my brother and I found an injured bird in our lawn. We tended to it, gave it water and shelter, but after a few hours the bird died. We were so sad that we gave the bird a proper funeral and burial. It happened again and we again buried the bird. This is such a vivid memory that it seems it happened just a few months ago; but it happened almost 20 years ago ... giving a cruel reminder as to how time flies!! Come to think of it, this memory reminds me of my 'My Moments' series. I had stopped a long time ago due to some obvious reasons. I am still double minded if I should start writing them again or not ... maybe I need to give it some serious thought .... hmmm!!!

Anyhow, another Sunday cleaning going on. I just wanted to upload my blip and be done with it. During the last 8 days of 'no comments', I have lost two subscribers and gained four. It is surprising that people do not understand someone's need of having a break and their own space, specially when it was a much needed break for me. I am tempted to turn them back on, but I have loads on my plate right now. Just two weeks before the semester ends, and then I will be ALMOST free till the mid of September, with a few work related tasks in between.

Hajra has walked through one of the commencement ceremonies and the second ceremony is today. We are so proud of our Fulbright scholar to have gone all the way from Pakistan, living alone in Vermont (VT) and graduating with a superb GPA. Extreme weather; from the scorching heat of Lahore to lots of snow in VT, hats off to her for being the first one from her Masters batch to graduate and that too on the right time.

There are days like today, when I am observing things around me and am able to express them. There are days when I have thoughts and feelings all inside me, but I am unable to translate them to words. I would want the former to be more frequent than the latter ...

For the record, the weather today was in the range of 29 to 38 degree Celsius with 36% humidity. We had thunder and rain last night because of which the weather is quite pleasant, though it's not going to be long lasting.

Is it a coincidence that this is my third bird blip in a row?

Looks like a baby Mynah to me ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.