Daily Wild

By emyjane

Happy as Larry


Welcome to Larry Week! Larry you're a true star, Larry you have more fans then ever, Larry we all love you, Larry you have found fame beyond your years, oh Larry, you really are a little gem.

I know it's Larry because of the red pattern on his breast (every robin has a different design), I know it's Larry because he's the only robin I can get that close to, the only robin who comes when I cry out his name "Larry, Larry, Laaarrrrrrrrrrry!!!" (the neighbours must think I'm nuts!) & he comes down as if from nowhere. And when he's had enough worms, he sits next to me & sings his little heart out - & that's how I know he's male, as it's only the male who sings through the breeding season, both sexes start up singing together come late Summer.

A little about myself - I love nature, in fact nature is my life - anything I can do to help it along, to protect it, to nurture it, I'll be there as it's guardian & forerunner. Yet certain things in my life has given me depression - diagnosed, battling through it, just about handling the s*** that's come my way, but always happiest in front of a canvas or behind a camera observing what goes on which surrounds me.

Larry has come to me at a time when I needed a lift, when I needed a love to look after, to nurture, to protect... call me silly, but I do believe in some kind of divine intervention, I've known it before through other creatures who I've built up a relationship of trust & Larry & I trust each other, we give each other pleasure - it sounds really really daft & I understand you all switching off at this point... I can't really explain it, he's just there for me & I am for him! He is a 'him', not an 'it', he has a character, a soul, a heart & so do I!

I could have blipped this common blue butterfly today or this view of one.

I loved his house sparrow, with the look - you want my worm? Even this one of Larry Legs with Bad hair (feather) day would have been acceptable.

But no - Larry underneath the garden furniture, happy as Larry - not in focus, not brilliant, but good enough to emphasise what a truly remarkable little bird he is!

******

Thank you SO MUCH for all the comments, stars & hearts from yesterday - I was truly overwhelmed & for my beloved Larry to hit the spotlight within an hour of me posting his portrait - thank you again so much - let's all bow down to KING Larry Legs! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.