Wild winds & McCarthy castle

Wild wild weather!! gale force winds all day interspersed by bright sunshine and heavy showers. No walking bus today and the two smallest were very cranky - I blame the wind. Smallest girl came in announcing she was mad, very mad and smallest boy knew exactly how to wind her up and proceeded at a professional rate! A Joyce Grenfell moment as I heard myself saying soothing 'now R, don't growl - its not very nice!!' Things improved once the plastic animals came out.

Home and gaily watering the polytunnel when himself inquires when I'm having my hair done. 4pm I reply - not according to the calendar he answers - 2pm! He's right and it's now 2.30 - a feverish (but very safe!!) drive across the mountain to Schull! The job done I couldn't resist a bit of blipping down at the quay - the gale force winds quickly doing away with the 'do'!!

Obama is now on his way to Dublin having had a very warm welcome in his ancestral village in County Offaly. I believe a pint of the black stuff was consumed (Her Majesty declined earlier on in the week) much to the delight of the landlord.

Latest news (radio on in the salon so I'm very informed) - volcanic ash is now heading towards Scotland - Iceland again!

This impressive stack is all that remains of a McCarthy castle gazing out down the bay. You would not believe how windy it was !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.