Craigmillar Castle


I visited Craigmillar castle as a child with my parents, a beautiful ruin set in green fields.

As a student I cycled around this area a lot, and realised that the castle had leant its name to one of the most deprived areas of Edinburgh. A place best passed through

Now I help out, in a very small way, on the board of a charity based in Craigmillar, so I spend time there every few weeks. I don't often see the castle as it's not on my normal route, but tonight I had something to drop off, so I went that way.

It was a very grey evening, with gales force winds and occasional bursts of heavy rain. Getting out of the car to take a photo wasn't an obviously attractive proposition, but a blippers addiction can overcome such minor obstacles...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.