Five things

By fivethings

I can't stand the rain

1. Apocalyptic weather lashes the city. I love extreme weather - not being caught in it or disrupted by it - but watching it from the comfort of my own home, or in this case the office. Our old creaky building holds up well but sometimes it sounds like it's playing the bagpipes as the wind finds ways to get in.

2. I spend so much time worrying about things that haven't happened or might happen but it turns out what I really should have been worrying about is the fact that all the work I had done on Friday wasn't saved and I need to start all over again. The positive here is not to bother worrying about the stuff you don't know about because somewhere there's a server and it's crashing.

3. A board meeting this evening at the very excellent Random Accomplice. I love being on their board. They are two very brilliant people, running a very brilliant company. They produced a play of my brother's called the Promise which has recently toured to New York and without a doubt took it by storm.

4. The actress who performed in the Promise was nominated for outstanding solo performance in a Broadway play at the New York Drama Desk Awards, which are announced tonight. She will be in a room with the likes of Al Pacino and Stockard Channing. This is major, major achievement for everyone and no one cares if she actually wins or not - the nomination feels like winning.

5. And home. Windswept, wet and glad to be shutting the door. All the trains are cancelled, massive trees lie across roads and debris is flying. But I find myself cosy and warm and content to watch the rain against the window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.