Cabin Fever shot

I woke up to a rally of hail this morning. It lashed the plastic windows at such a speed that, in my semi-conscious, waking moment I thought I had awoken under heavy machine gun fire. Thank god I'm not a frail, old veteran, I might have had a heart attack. Not only were there bullets of hail pattering the thin plasterboard walls but the wind was so strong that the caravan was rocking back and forth. I don't know how babies do it, trying to get back to sleep in that wind was making me seasick.

From my kitchen, while drinking coffee I watched the clouds sweeping in over the land on the other side of the firth. They seem to pull a curtain of rain behind them, like some reluctant child. As soon as the curtain is adjacent to the kitchen window it starts to fade from view as we, ourselves, are enveloped in the same rain cloud. The window becomes distorted with neat, horizontal smears of rain. The green and blues of the trees and the skies become hard to decipher and the only movement in the garden comes from a fleeing bird or flying leaf. As soon as it comes it goes. It clears down the firth, leaving a rainbow behind.

This is all I've done all day pretty much. Watched the rain and clouds. This is a view of a field with some big, uninvited, frankly rude clouds behind it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.