Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Edge of the Moor

The evening light lured me out again tonight, and I managed a stroll to the top of Baildon Moor and back round. The wind is still strong, so no sounds of Curlew from the other corner of the moor, but plenty of Meadow Pipits and Skylarks, the Lapwings in their usual field, and the Stonechats showing nicely when I got back close to home. I think the male Stonechat was determined to distract me away from the rest of the family, and I managed to get my best picture of him so far this summer.

This image is from the southern edge of the moor, the bit overlooking Saltaire, Shipley and Bradford. The sun was catching the west side of the tree nicely, and showing off the boundary wall well. The mature trees on the moor are mostly at the edge, although as I've mentioned before, a small forest of saplings is emerging which is changing the landscape significantly.

in the wind ~ the sound of one tree ~ drowns out ~ a sea ~ of grass

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.