Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Why Georgina Looks And Feels Terrible

Georgina is my housemate (and landlord's) cat. She is very sweet. About
four months ago she developed a urinary tract infection (feline cystitis). Her owner knows perfectly well that if he walked about six blocks (maybe half a mile) to the vet's office, the sickness is easily treated with antibiotics, and he can easily afford the care. I have reminded him a few times to do that, and offered to do it myself. He says "No." He says he'll do it next week. I am in a VERY precarious situation financially (understatement of the blip-year please), and I am in no position (neither by situation or by emotionaal wherewithal) to open up the cannons and make it happen against his will.

All of this bothers me. Oh did I mention that the illness has poor Georgina urinating about fifty times each day, on the stove, on the kitchen table, on whatever is there on the table, and unless I chase her off with a clap on time, in my food. Can you see her tail in the photo? It's covered with her blood-tinted urine, as are her hind legs. She doesn't have to pee on the counter to put urine on it. Sitting or walking on it will suffice.

Sorry for such a sorry blip! I'll post a nice flower next time.
Here is more information on feline cystitis

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.