an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

Greece in Davis

In Chicago, there is a fairly large population of Greek immigrants - enough that there is a neighborhood called Greektown, where most of their community lives. I remember it being a fun and wonderful part of Chicago, something I really enjoyed while living there.

Boston is a town with a huge Italian immigrant population - the North End full of old school Italians, but I had never heard of or witnessed a large Greek population.

Today as I walked through Davis Square, I passed this construction site where they were flying both the Greek and American flags. I'm assuming it was the construction company that has Greek heritage, but it was a nice reminder. I get tired of just seeing the America flag plastered everywhere - I think to many people in my generation it is not a source of pride, but often of shame at much of what our country has done in the international community.

This is not to say I am not patriotic, I suppose? But the Texas flag is where my loyalty lies, where I feel a deep sense of pride and patriotism. For Texas I would do things I would never do in the name of America.

Enough politics for today. Out until 3a yesterday (or should I be prescient, today, as this is technically yesterday's blip at this point) and then slept far too late today. I hate sleeping late. Puts me in the worst mood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.