Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Leaving Las Vegas

Today was our last day in Vegas. So at 8am, I shocked my family by getting up and going to the pool! My sister said, "I thought you were sleeping in....Fat and Happy remember?!!". "Fat and Happy at the pool, gotta get a dip in before leaving for my flight" I said. And she's the one who ended up sleeping in today.

So I got my pool time and decided that it needed to be blipped. It is a gorgeous pool and I love the line of palm trees that line it. I wasn't the only one with this idea today. I ran into two other family friends down there who had the same idea I did. And then I had time for a quick orange juice with my family before I was in the shuttle and heading back to the Las Vegas airport.

It felt good to board the plane and just sit down and exhale. It's been a busy, fun and exciting weekend but I am ready to get home and see my husband and my baby dolls. Little did I know what an 'experience' this flight was going to be. Aaah it was a doozy for sure.

We lifted off fine but immediately started to hit some pretty major turbulence. The whole plane was rocking back and forth and taking sudden dips. I could tell that other passengers were getting really nervous about this. I just took some deep breaths (motion sickness is not my friend) and tried to wait it out. Then all of the sudden the flight attendants started running up and down the isle. "Uh-oh, this can't be good", I thought. Then we heard the announcement, "If there is anyone on this flight with medical experience, please go to the back of the plane". Then there were several people racing up and down the isle and the turbulence was getting worse. I looked back to see several people hovered around a man who had his two feet lifted up in the air and his head down in the isle. Oh my heart just dropped. He looked like he was in really bad shape. And then the announcement was made, "Ladies and Gentlemen, remain in your seats we are making an emergency landing back to Las Vegas". Oh my gosh, things were so intense and no one knew what was happening with the passenger at the back of the plane. The landing was quick, sudden and very rough. The paramedics came on board and then we were all asked to leave the plane. Apparently the man had had too much to drink before boarding the plane and had severe alcohol poisoning. I actually felt really bad for him. A) He was so embarrassed and B) He was so so so sick!!! So they took him to the hospital and we all boarded the plane again. The rest of the flight was non eventful and I was just very happy to have landed safe and sound. I was missing my little family!

When my husband and our kids drove up, I had their stuffed M&M babies waiting for them in my arms. They loved them. Yellow for our daughter of course and blue for our son. Oh I missed them so much! And my daughter said to me, "Mommy I miss-ed you, don't go on trips anymore." "Oh honey bunny" I told her, "Mommy is not going on any more trips without you anymore!" Oh they are so cute. Little heart melters! Good to be home. And packed with fond memories and friendships that will last a lifetime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.