Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Where are you Mum?

Another breezy day! Pete and have spent much of the day helping out at the launch of the Peterborough Green Festival. He was showing people invertebrates using a projecting microscope and I was helping with a wildlife quiz. The Wildlife Trust were supposed to have their stands on the Cathedral Green, but by the time I arrived at 11am they were nowhere to be seen. The wind had destroyed all the gazebos in the first half hour! I ended up in the Cathedral Square, which gave plenty of opportunity to chat to passing shoppers.

This afternoon I came home and made herby leek and potato soup for fifteen, to be taken along to a bat and moth evening later (which is why I'm posting this so early!) I just hope the wind drops a bit otherwise I think all the moths will be whisked past the trap - if they bother to come out at all!

I lurked in the garden late this afternoon in search of a blip. I heard a persistent plaintive peeping noise coming from the willow tree, and eventually spotted this rather insistent baby blue tit, calling to be fed. It was in quite an awkward position, and the wind kept blowing branches in the way, but I managed to get a few decent shots. The rest can be seen here.

I'm still behind with comments but have a quieter couple of days coming up, before another busy period, so hope to catch up with you all then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.