Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Low Newton Collage

We?ve been staying in one of the Coastguard Cottages (now converted into holiday lets), see bottom right. I do have an ambition to stay in the Coastguard Lookout (top left), but it?s only for two people and I think the loo is outside, so a bit more primitive, but no less expensive for the week. You can see the lookout for miles around my guess is that from the top you can also see for miles. (I've been and had a look and you can!)

This would have been the morning for an expedition to photograph the castle again but I'd left it too late. I was expecting rain (must remember to ignore weather forecasts as they rarely apply to the coastal strip.) Even so I was out in the field before 6am so got the benefit of early morning light.

In the end we all were up early and were off out of the house by 9.30am - something of a record for us. We followed the blue sky north, so headed for Beadnell and then Seahouses, where we walked along the beach. The sun stayed with us all morning until the tide turned and the wind changed direction, which suited us fine, and we managed a short walk along the beach in the sun.

Everyone was happy to eat lunch in Trotter's cafe where mum and I had gone for coffee.

Now back in the cottage, where two have slept, and two have stayed awake. One knitting and the other `blipping? (at least writing the blurb for the blip!)

Grey sky, but still no rain. Got to be good news!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.