Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

And it didn't smell....

Hanging outside a phone box for about ten minutes today taking photos

I was at the Saltaire Arts Trail Day 2 and we took part in the photography walk, where we wandered the village under the half watchful eye of a photographic tutor.

Although I go the the village at least twice a week, I don't often go into the residential area and I had completely forgotten that Saltaire has one of the only remaining red phone boxes in the area for miles . So I slacked off from the tutor and went to smoke a fag in the bike shed to avoid double maths play with the camera and the phone box.

Phone boxes in England used to always smell of wee and weren't that great in the 1980s when that was the only place you could go to call a boy without your parents listening. All pre mobile phone of course. These red tardises may not be a patch on mobile phones in terms of what they can do but they do have some quintessential British character.

I tried to capture that character but am not arty enough to make peeling paint look amazing so I plumped for some reflections through the glass at the top.


It was a lovely day out and we got to have a proper good nosey in some of the village wherin some residents had " open houses" for the festival that became shops for artists and photographers. I am now in awe of some of the photography that I have seen today on sale and am now not sure whether I want to cry at how good I am not or whether to let this make me want to aim high and take better and better photos. Mind you proper photographers probably listen to their tutors rather than wander off . ( It wasn't a real fag by the way... )

Here is a link to some other stuff I messed around with today.

Other stuff I have messed around with today

Hope Sunday is good for you all
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.