middleman

By middleman

Shmindie

When anyone or anything is hyped and plastered all over the music press I tend to avoid it like the plague. So, this hot new band The Vaccines that were meant to be the next best thing had completely and deliberately eluded me until yesterday. Anyone who comes up with a ten track debut album full of short, sharp and delirious shocks that clocks in at just over 30 minutes is absolutely fine with me.

The opening lines of the opening track are as fine a way to start an album as I've heard in quite some time. Nowt deep, nowt pretentious, just, you know, great indie pop and a bit of a thrill all round.

Pretty girl, wreckin' bar, ra ra ra ra, yeah you are

If I was a teenager or still in my student days I would be leaping around the room to this lot and babbling about them all over the shop. As it is, I recommend them on the internet before going about my daily chores. This week I hit the grand old age of 42. Sometimes I forget. I think it's better this way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.