jeni and the beans

By themessymama

365 blipnic!

Very nearly didn't have enough energy to blip my blip today. But here it is. My 365th blip, combined neatly with a picnic on the beach to help celebrate the launch of Oxfam's Be Humankind campaign.


It was a lovely picnic. It was VERY windy though. I even bought two red balloons to include in the blip but almost as soon as I'd taken one picture with the both of them in it (just) one of them burst, it couldn't cope with being buffeted around in the wind. I managed another shot a bit later on with just the one balloon, and then that burst as well! And as neither of the shots were any good they didn't make it into the final cut. The glittery numbers that I bought to stick onto one of the balloons decided they weren't going to stick to a balloon, but would stick to a rock instead. The rock's on my windowsil now, looking glittery.

Ben and Nat had a lovely time playing together. Just as we were about to leave the beach Ben managed to fall off a railing the pair of them were playing on, bit the inside of his lip and grazed his chin. He screamed, then cried, then had a cuddle, then decided he was a big brave boy and although he's told everybody that he's got a hurty lip and chin he's not cried since and has said it's better now.

Been a good day. Managed to get a second pair of the lovely cropped jeans I bought on Monday, went into Boots and had a "I think I spend too much money here" moment when I got £25 worth of tshirts for Ben free, using my loyalty points. Ben fell asleep to I took the opportunity to go into Jessops to have a proper look at a new camera. Only to discover Sony are discontinuing it soon! Grrr. Better get our act together and decide if it's really going to work with the lenses we've already got, and then make the push to buy it and get our old camera bodies onto eBay.

The only thing I didn't manage to do was a successful trip to the post office. I got there all right, but they didn't have the tough post bag thing that I wanted so I have to wrap my parcel to Norway in tough brown paper instead and try again next time I have any energy. My twin nephews are going to be too big for their presents and I am risking missing my niece's birthday. Well I'm going to miss it, there's no way a parcel would make it there by the 11th is there!

I also called in at a local surgery to get some forms to fill in to make the transfer finally from Steyning to Worthing. Just me and Ben; Steve will stay with the Steyning surgery because he works next door to it and it makes a lot more sense and the practice manager is still ok with the situation.

Quick pit-stop at home for refuelling (hash browns and cherry bakewells - yum!) then off to band practise. Ben took his drums and had a bit of a play, and much of a run around I think. I had a real treat of being able to just sing without an instrument to concentrate on. Just hope my cold doesn't leave me voiceless by Sunday now!

Got out of there to find the car had been seriously gull-poo'd on so off to the carwash, which Ben was very freaked out by. I have a feeling he's going to be dreaming scary dreams about that and is going to need some big cuddles later. He processed it on the way home, eventually deciding that Mummy wasn't hurt, Daddy wasn't hurt, Ben wasn't hurt, and that even though it was a bit scary, Mummy and Daddy weren't scared and it was alright now.


In other news, Steve had surgery on his shoulder today to remove a sebaceous gland which Ben has been bashing lots and has been hurting. Quite a big lump removed, mainly of fatty scar-tissue apparently, and the stitches come out in 10 days. All went well, all will be well.


Am way too tired now and am not sure whether any of the above has made sense or is in any logical form or whether I've left any sentences unfinished...


But hey.


365 not out. Yes :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.