Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Keeping up with the Big Kids

Okay I'll admit it, this was a bit of a risky shot. My zoom was not fully extended. So I said to our son, "Buddy ride your bike towards me but please and I MEAN PLEASE swerve away at the last minute". "Okay Mom, I can do that". And you know what, I wouldn't have even attempted this shot if I thought that he couldn't.

He has become a pro at bike riding. He keeps up with the pack of neighborhood kids now no problem. For years, he was the little boy in the neighborhood. Wanting to play with the grade schoolers but just too little. They have always humored him but now that he is entering grade school himself, he can keep up and instead of just humoring him, they want him to play. So they jump curbs on their bikes, hunt around for insects, invent games, build things with old cardboard. And our daughter has another three year old little girl to play with at the same time. So we will be spending a great deal of our summer out front this year instead of usually in the back. Bikes and scooters have become the rage in this household and we just feel so fortunate that our kids have buddies in the neighborhood to play with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.